Fussy little eaters: vegetarian quiche tarts

I find it really difficult to have a balanced diet all the time. When I try to be good with my vegetable intake, I would soon realise that my fruit intake has taken a backseat. I really don’t know how healthy people do it! I want to start Little E on a good eating habit so I am making a lot of effort in the kitchen.

When my boys were sick, I needed to really ensure they eat well too 🙂 For lunch last week, I made vegetarian quiche tarts, inspired by a recipe on a  sample packet of baby formula. Little E was able to eat it all by himself, with not much mess! Double yay!

Vegetarian quiche tarts

image
Ingredients:

  • 8 slices of multigrain bread
  • 1 1/4 cup of mixed vegetables (I grated some zucchini and carrots, chopped bits of capsicum and 4 halved cherry tomatoes)
  • 1/4 cup grated cheese
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • Pepper
  • Olive Oil

Method:

  1. Preheat oven at 160C
  2. Mix vegetables and cheese, then season with pepper
  3. With a rolling pin, flatten bread into 5mm thin
  4. Coat muffin trays with oil, then insert bread slices as cups
  5. Divide vegetable mixtures evenly into the bread cups
  6. Whisk eggs and milk together
  7. Pour evenly into bread cups (you will need to pour a little at a time and wait for the egg mixture to “sink in”)
  8. Bake for 30min or until egg mixture has set

These tarts have a lot of goodness in them. Grains and carbs from the bread, protein from the eggs, calcium from the milk and cheese, plus all the vegetables. A balance meal in a compact form 😉

Leave a Reply

