Fussy Little Eaters: Breakfast Muffins

I hate breakfast.

Or I should say, I hate normal breakfast food, like cereal, toasts, etc. I wouldn’t hate breakfast as much if I could have a big fry up or leftovers everyday. I guess I grew up eating rice with other savoury dishes for breakfast, while the usual healthy breakfast options here are sweet. It took around 6 years for Mr E to get me to have daily healthy breakfast of sorts. Even then, I still have to make myself eat in the morning. Also, Mr E could have the same breakfast every single day and he won’t be bored. I, on the other hand, need to change it up pretty often; else, I just won’t have any.

So the other day, I made some healthy breakfast muffins, inspired by this recipe. I was looking around for something that Mr E can have while he’s still on his elimination diet, and this recipe was perfect! I had to change it up a bit as I didn’t have any strawberries and I didn’t want to add that much sugar, so here’s what I did.

Banana Oats Breakfast Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cup plain Oats (not quick cooking)
  • 1 cup plain low fat greek yogurt
  • 2 Eggs
  • 3 tbs Maple Syrup
  • 1 1/2 tsp Baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp Baking soda
  • 1 tbs Mixed Spice or Cinnamon
  • 2 mashed riped large Bananas

Method:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 200C.
  2. In a food processor, add all ingredients and churn until all blended in together.
  3. Into a silicon muffin tray or foil liners, spoon mixture and bake for 20 minutes.

I quite liked these muffins, it is healthy and I get to have something different. I would heat one up in the microwave for about 20 seconds and give it to Little E to feed himself with. Since it isn’t a “wet” porridge, the mess he creates isn’t all that bad 🙂 I actually divided the mixture into two, and added half the maple syrup (1 1/2 tbs) into one of the mixtures, as I didn’t want Little E to have too much sugar in his diet. Mr E can’t have pears at the moment, but when he can, I will sure to use pears or apples instead.

I hope you try this recipe and like it 🙂 Let me know!

One thought on “Fussy Little Eaters: Breakfast Muffins

Leave a Reply

