Fussy little eaters: lemon coconut balls

 

I am always on the hunt for easy, healthy baked treats for kids. I like to have one in a packed meals for school, either as part of lunch or as afternoon tea. As all Australian schools are nut-free, I find it hard to find recipes without nuts that are healthy. Perhaps I am just not looking properly? I have been making muesli bar bites forΒ two schoolΒ terms now, along with mini zucchini chocolate cupcakes and mini pancakes. I am getting rather sick of making them πŸ˜€

2untitled

Anyway, our lemon trees have been very busy this year again and have given us lots and lots of fruit. As I was looking for recipes to use them in, I found this recipe. I thought to myself that I’d try to make it nut free and substitute the almonds with oats. So I did!

It is super easy, quick and NO tools required. Just a bowl and a zester. Oh, of course, a spoon to mix the ingredients together πŸ™‚

untitled

Ingredients:

  • 1c desiccated coconut
  • 1c oats
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Approx. 3tbs lemon juice
  • Approx. 3tbs honey (for my vegan readers, you can also use agave syrup)

Mix then roll into balls. Easy! Depending on how thick your honey/agave syrup is, you will need to adjust, the mix just need to come together when you roll. Next time, I will roast the desiccated coconut first to give it more texture.

This recipe makes about 18 ununifomed balls. I froze them and defrost as required πŸ™‚

Now I’m going to try other recipes and make them nutfree using oats. Will report back if successful πŸ™‚

Please let me know if you decide to make these and if you like them!

Leave a Reply

