Child friendly food joint: Common Grounds Cafe

The Common Ground
4/1 Jeffries St
Gowrie Shops
Common Grounds on Urbanspoon
Another exciting found I did last week. It was so good, I went twice within a week! My friend said that her coffee was the best she has had in Canberra. I have to say that it is one of the best I’ve had πŸ™‚

image

The first time I went, they didn’t have what I wanted, so I ordered their beef burger. It was SO GOOD. Juicy patty, caramelised onions and chutney all balanced up with gerkins and beetroot. Add to all that, a strong tasting swiss cheese and a brioche bun. The bun was slightly too sweet for my liking but it was delicious nevertheless. The chips were crunchy and fluffy, but not overly salted. One of the best burger I’ve had yet.

Little E shared a smoked salmon, capers and cream cheese toasted sandwich with his “twin”. Both kids were very well behaved, sitting next to each other in matching high seats. Adorable! They both seemed to like their meal, with Little E polishing his share in no time at all. He is such a boy, at least in comparison to his “twin” who has the most elegant way of eating πŸ™‚ I love watching them together, it really does feel like I have a set of twins, without doubling the work πŸ˜‰

image

Along with my coffee and burger, Little E and I shared the tastiest banana smoothie ever. Spiced with nutmeg and cinnamon, it was creamy and sweet. Little E would have thought that Christmas came early for him, when I kept pouring his share into his own glass. I didn’t get to eat the biscuit that came with the coffee because my son was stealthy and ate it before I knew what was happening.

image

French toasts with cinnamon mascarpone, maple syrup and mixed berries

The second time we went (I had to take Mr E there), we were too early for lunch (it doesn’t start until 1pm on weekends, so late!). So we had to order from the breakfast menu – not a difficult thing to do as the menu sounded really nice as well. Mr E ordered the Mediterranean Omelette, while I had the chorizo, basil, chili, and goat cheese on bread (can’t remember the name, sorry). We also ordered the French Toast for us three to share.

image

I looooooove the french toasts! The cinnamon mascarpone was really really good, and the flavours of all the condiments combined work really well together. (Un)fortunately, Little E didn’t like it, so Mr E and I were left to finish the dish. We both thought that the omelette and the chorizo dishes were nice, however, they weren’t spectacular. Not for the price that they charge, at least. However, the smoothie was still good and Mr E is still gushing over his (VERY) thick caramel shake.

image

I like Common Grounds, I will definitely go back there! The food is good (at least the lunch menu) and the service top notch. None of the waitresses gave any bad vibe over the kids’ mess or noise. The orders didn’t take long to arrive at the table (important when dining with children) and there is something for everyone in the menu. I do recommend that you don’t bring a giant pram in though, as the inside area is rather squishy. I reckon the place would be great in summer, with loads of seating outside. It isn’t the cheapest cafe around, however, you do get good quality meals, drinks and service.

image

Like our firstΒ visit, we finished off our lunch on the weekend with some play at the playground across the street. Another plus to the place! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

