Koko Black: Winter Evenings of Chocolate

I finally got to use up the last of my Mothers’ Day present last night. A couple of my girlfriends invited me to join them to Koko Black’s annual chocolate indulgence, and so Mr E bought me a ticket as part of my Mothers’ Day presents. It was one of my very few night outings since Little E arrived and I was very excited. It felt a little weird getting myself ready to go out at 7.30pm 😉

image

This was placed in front of me as soon as I sat down. I am not much of a drinker and this mocha truffle cocktail was potent. It took me a while to finish it but it was delicious! I thoroughly enjoyed the mocha truffle dipped into the cocktail 🙂

image

First course: I really liked the chocolate mousse and the honeycomb shards, but not so much the Leatherwood Honey marshmallow. It tasted like soggy funky old piece of leather foam 😛

image

Second course and my second most favourite: I loved the balance of savoury and sweet of this one. The use of tahini and salted nuts and black sesame cut through the sweetness of the dish. Really enjoyed this one! Had I not worn one of my stretchy dress, I would have to undo my zip by this stage. I am still not that much of a chocolate person, so 3 chocolate dishes in one sitting, one after another, were definitely too much already.

image

Second beverage of the night: we got to choose a beverage and we all chose an iced coffee. It came at the right time because the coffee was still bitter so it cleansed the palate a bit, giving it a new lease in life for more chocolate to come.

image

Third course and my favourite! dish of the night: a sour cherry soufflé. It was tart and fluffy and light and thoroughly delicious! My kind of dessert 🙂 I thought the shortbread was unnecessary, but I ate it anyway. I also loved the little mount of milk chocolate ice cream with bits of sour cherries. Yum!

image

Last course and perhaps my least favourite: perhaps because I was in a total chocolate, caffeine and alcohol high. The highest I have ever been in the last 30 months of my life! It was also around 10pm by the time this arrived and I have a pretty bad head cold, though I did like the pastry and the caramelised walnut. I am not a fan of semi-freddo it turned out either. Weird.

image

The head chef came around to each of the tables there, having a quick chat to everyone. It was a lovely touch, he said that this year, he tried to make it less of a chocolate overload experience, learning his lessons from last year. I am glad that he did, because I struggled already as it was, I can’t imagine how sick I would be if I went last year. I thoroughly enjoyed my experience, more so because of the company and the chance to be me for a few hours 🙂

After 2.5 hours, we all waddled back to our cars with our goody bags, bellies full and chocolaty happy. I can’t wait to go again next year! If chocolates are your thing, keep an eye out for next year’s event. Details should be on Koko Black’s website 🙂

Leave a Reply

