Child friendly food joint: A Taste of Pastry

A Taste of Pastry
Gartside St
Wanniassa (Erindale shops where Pizza Hut and Domino’s are)

I get a little too excited when I discover a new place that has yummy food. A little too much, if anything. I would want to go to the same place repeatedly, ordering basically the same thing, before I move on to the next good place.

My latest obsession is Vietnamese pork roll. All crunchy and tasty, I would eat it every day if I could. I have been getting my fix from one of the place at the nearby food court, though it isn’t as good as the others, it was close and easy. So when we picked up a recent pizza order, I almost jumped out of the car, threw out the pizzas and march straight in to A Taste of Pastry when I saw they serve pork rolls. Luckily, common sense prevailed, and I waited a whole week to go.

image

Last Thursday was the day. I packed Little E with me, armed with bibs and wipes, and ordered us lunch. He had a vegetable pasty, which he ate by himself quietly, while I had one of these.

image

A freshly made Vietnamese pork roll with hot red chillies. It was crunchy and sour and meaty and hot and was just delicious. It was a good thing too that Little E was able to have his unassisted, because I hardly took a breath between mouthfuls. It was so good.

image

Then, I saw the sign.

A coffee and a cronut for $6.50. Cronutssssss!!! I couldn’t say no, even though they only had jam cronuts left. I am not a fan of jams, but I am of cronuts. So I just wiped off the jam and ate my delicious morsel of fattening heaven.

image

I was so impressed with the place that I took Mr E for lunch on Friday. Yep. The very next day after I first went πŸ˜› That time, the bakery had the full range of cronuts: chocolate, salted caramel (which wasn’t caramelly nor salty but still delicious), chocolate hazelnut, jam and custard. Again, we had the Vietnamese rolls while Little E had his leftover vegie pasty from the day before lol

The owner (?) is friendly and didn’t bat an eyelid at all to our apologies for making a big mess. She made okay coffee (need to be stronger but still good), the prices of the goods are reasonable and she has cronutsssss! I sure will go back there again (and again and again).

In a typical Asian manner, you could also get some fresh eggs, 1kg packs of salt, sugar and sultanas. Random.

Leave a Reply

