Fussy Little Eaters: Curried Sausages

As I’ve mentioned before, I am having a problem with Little E not eating any meat dishes I cook for him. So, as much as it is “unhealthy”, I take this recipe as a win because he ate some! Hooorah! He did eat them last, after every single mini molecule of vegies 😛 This dish is also cheap, simple, quick and it’s a winner for the whole family. There is a million of different versions of it, and it’s such a traditional old-fashion dishes, but this is my version and Little E likes it.

Curried Sausages

image

Ingredients:

  • 8 BBQ Sausages
  • 1/2 tbs curry powder (please see note, it’s important)
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 cup of vegies (I used frozen mix vegies)
  • 3 tbs cream
  • 2 cups of chicken stock
  • Oil

Method:

  1. In a boiling water, boil the sausages until cooked, skinned them then chop into 2cm pieces.
  2. In a heated pan with oil, brown the onions, then add the curry powder.
  3. When they become fragrant, add the vegies, cream and stock.
  4. Once the vegies are almost cooked, stir through the sausages.
  5. I served this with mashed sweet potato.

Note:

This dish was hot. I didn’t realise the Kirk’s curry powder was that hot. So, when serving to Little E, I put his serve in a strainer, then run water through it – “washing” them in a sense. However, if you don’t like hot dishes, and would rather be safe, I would only use 1/4 tbs of curry powder.

 We bought the best sausages the butcher had to make it as healthy as we could. Now that I know he likes sausages, I am going to have to see if I could make my own. Is it hard?

Leave a Reply

