Child friendly restaurant: Briscola La Pizzeria

Briscola La Pizzeria
Ph: 02 6248 5444
60 Alinga St
Canberra
Briscola Pizzeria on Urbanspoon

I have to thank my friend for this find, as it is somewhere that I most probably wouldn’t ever go. Briscola La Pizzeria is located away from the other restaurants in Civic, and I haven’t seen or heard anything about it before. Having a recent name change (it was apparently called La Posada), I would thought they would readvertise etc.

Anyway, I was a little nervous when I first entered the place as it looks fancy, too fancy to bring a toddler who was an hour behind his normal schedule, and therefore, super hungry and tired. We nervously asked for a high chair and ordered a pizza from the kids’ menu – thinking that if Little E got too fussy, we’ll just have to leave.

Briscola has a nice selection of kids’ menu, and for what we got, it was reasonably priced too. I always feel that kids’ menu is overpriced, as most offer fish and chips or chicken nuggets, for $10+! Not only unhealthy (as they’re usually frozen fish/chicken/chips), but also expensive? No, thanks.

I digress.

We ordered the hawaiian pizza, that also comes with a scoop of gelato! A very special treat for the little man, indeed 🙂 I think he knew it was a treat too, as he ate his dinner with great gusto!

I originally ordered a small of their special pizza, however, we were told that it is quite a small size and would be like a light meal. So I changed my mind and ordered a medium Margarita instead. Mr E ordered the prosciutto pizza in medium as well. They didn’t take too long to arrive to the table and we found out why the small pizza would be a light meal. The base of the pizza is nice and thin, the topping light.

I eat with my eyes, and my famished eyes said that we’re paying a lot for not much at all. However, we both loved our meals. Though light, the topping was actually enough for every bite. Being such a basic pizza, the Margarita didn’t allow much room to hide bad base, sauce or cheese. I absolutely enjoyed my pizza, even more when I got their yummy chilli oil to drizzle over it 😉

We are blessed with a relatively easy baby to take out. It might be due to the fact that we rarely go out at night, so the novelty is truly enjoyable for Little E. He was happy to eat his meal then walk around, entertaining himself and charming a couple of ladies lol Mr E and I were able to eat our dinner and enjoy the company of our friends.

When it came to dessert, Little E, Mr E and I thoroughly loved the zabaglione gelato. It has to be one of the tastiest gelato I’ve had, it was almost like frozen eggy custard – truly yum!

The waitresses were very friendly, helpful and prompt with our requests. When I asked for a piece of paper for Little E to draw on while we waited for his pizza, the waiter came straight back with them. When I told them that we were ready for the gelato, it arrived to the table within minutes.

I had a fabulous time at dinner tonight. So much so that I didn’t even think about taking photos 🙂 I would say that Briscola La Pizzeria is a fancy family pizza restaurant. You pay the money for good pizza, in a fancy setting. So if you’re looking at a restaurant that is child friendly, but still fancy enough for special occasions, please do look at Briscola La Pizzeria 🙂

Leave a Reply

