Fussy Little Eaters: Homemade sweet potato gnocchi

We went to an Italian deli recently and saw the array of homemade gnocchi they’re selling. Basil pesto gnocchi, capsicum cashew gnocchi, sweet potato gnocchi, etc. They just looked so yummy, I want to eat them all at once. Unfortunately, they were quite expensive. I think it was AUD15 for a 250g box. Ever since then, I have wanted to make some myself. So last weekend, I did.

Looking at the different recipes available, I chose the easiest one that isn’t plain potato gnocchi, so I made sweet potato gnocchi.

image

Homemade Sweet Potato Gnocchi

Ingredients:

  • 800g Sweet Potato (kumara)
  • 2 1/2 cups plain flour
  • 1 egg, lightly whisked
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • pepper

Method:

  1. Peel and roughly chop the potato, steam for 15 minutes. Make sure that no water touches the potato as you steam as it will make it “too wet” (which will make you have to add more flour)
  2. Mash the potato until smooth, season with pepper and add the egg. Using a wooden spoon, mix the two together really well
  3. Add the cheese and 1/3 of the flour, mix
  4. Add the rest of the flour in two batches
  5. On a floured surface, knead the dough until smooth
  6. Make into little balls, then press a floured fork into each on a lined tray
  7. Boil water and cook in batches, do not overcrowd
  8. When they start to float to the top, using a slotted spoon, scoop them up
  9. Cook the rest and stir in your sauce of choice

image

These were a little fiddly, as you can tell from the photo, I got a little inconsistent at the end 🙂 They were good, regardless. I served it with a cheese sauce, and was able to chop them into mini bits for Little E to eat by himself. Mr E also liked it, he was happy when I told him I have more than enough for him to have for lunch too. I think I will try to make a basil pesto one next time.

image

On a totally unrelated note, look at these finger carrots from our garden! So cute!!! I think I planted the seed way too close together, which resulted some all tangled up. They were so flavoursome though! We have a few still left in the ground, I don’t actually know when they’re ready. Regardless, I cannot wait!

Leave a Reply

