Fussy Little Eaters: Homemade muesli bar

I went to Woolies the other week looking for one of those fruit strips for Little E, but couldn’t find any. I did, however, found and bought these. Little E had it for the first time this morning and liked them. I actually quite like them too but I don’t like the price. I bought a pack of 6 for AUD2.39, which isn’t too bad, however, they’re AUD3.23 full price. So today, I decided to try in making my own πŸ™‚

There are lots of recipes online, each are quite different, but most contain a lot of sugar! Even ones that are supposedly for kids. I basically chopped and changed different recipes and come up with my own – based on what I have in the pantry and least amount of sugar possible. Here it is!

image

Muesli Bar (with Gluten Free alternative)

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 60g butter
  • 1/2 cups rolled oats (see note for gluten-free option)
  • 1 weetbix
  • 1/2 cup sultanas (I also mixed through some dried fruits and dried apples I have on hand)
  • 1/4 cup chopped dates (can also use dried apricots)
  • 1/4 cup gentle fibre (can also use dessicated coconut)
  • 1/8 cup nuts or seeds of your choice (I used a mixture of pistachio, peanuts and almonds)

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees
  2. Melt butter and honey together in a pot
  3. Using a food processor, blend all the other ingredients together until fine
  4. Stir the melted butter and honey slowly and blend until all combined
  5. In a lined tray (I used a loaf tray), press the mixture firmly
  6. Bake for 15-20 minutes until golden
  7. Cool before cutting into sticks (makes about 12 toddler-hand-sized sticks)

Note: for a gluten free alternative, you can use crushed cornflakes and rice bubbles πŸ™‚

image

When kept in the fridge, these should be fine for a couple of weeks. I guess the good thing about store bought ones is that they last longer and so you can keep them in your nappy bag for emergencies. However, these would be a lot cheaper and if you have older kids as well (or husbands), they can get on these too πŸ™‚

One thought on “Fussy Little Eaters: Homemade muesli bar

Leave a Reply

