Our Chinese New Year celebration

I identify myself more as an Australian, having lived here longer than living in Indo. However, I find that the older I get, the more proud I am of my Chinese Indo heritage. So I really want Little E to know this part of him, so I try to make this year’s celebration as festive as I can. It’s actually his second new year, but like Christmas, he’s aware of things more this time around.

image

On new year’s eve, we had a simple dinner at home with nectarines and oranges for dessert. We stuck to Little E’s nightly routine so we didn’t do anything special.

image

This morning, he received his first red pockets! He didn’t know what to do with them and abandoned them after only a few seconds lol I also had bought him a new red outfit to wear. Mr E and I didn’t get the same pleasure of getting new outfits but we’re wearing our reddest clothes we have πŸ˜‰

image

Lunch was more en-point with BBQ pork, roasted duck, roast pork and beancurd. It was a feast! Little E’s present for me was a 2.5 hours nap in the morning, sooooo good! πŸ˜‰ For dinner tonight, Mr E is making some noodles, an auspicious dish to represent long life.

image

If you celebrate the Chinese New Year, I hope the year of the horse brings you a joyful, prosperous, healthy and full life! From my family to yours, Gong Xi Fat Choi! πŸ™‚

One thought on “Our Chinese New Year celebration

Leave a Reply

