Fussy Little Eaters: Easy Orange Chicken + OOTD

20131016_153048_resized

I love denim overalls on babies!

 

Easy Orange Chicken Recipe

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 Chicken Thigh Fillets – cut into strips
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp garlic
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1 tbs brown sugar (more or less depending on the tartiness of your OJ)
  • 1/2 cup freshly squeezed OJ
  • half a carrot cut into thin strips
  • half an onion, diced
  • pepper
  • olive oil

Method:

  1. Sautee garlic, ginger and onion until the onion becomes transparent, then add chicken
  2. When chicken is half cooked, add in carrots and the rest of the ingredients
  3. Simmer until chicken is cooked and the juice reduces down to about half the amount

I served this with cous cous for us, however, you can have it over rice as well. Little E had it with buttered toast soldiers πŸ™‚ Since it is so citrus-y, it is perfect to cook with fish as well. I would normally just pan fry the fish, and cook the rest in a separate pot. I would then pour the sauce over the fish before serving. It is quick, easy and both my loves enjoyed this dish.

A word of warning though, make sure your little one has “home clothes” on, as the turmeric stains like no other! πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Fussy Little Eaters: Easy Orange Chicken + OOTD

    • theunicornmum says:

      Is it really? do you have your trusty Indian Curry recipe on your blog? I would love to try it, my husband and I are Indian curry lovers! πŸ™‚ Actually, do you have a recipe for dahl? my little one loves it but mine is just never as good as store-bought 😦

      • whatthemom says:

        Yes! I just posted info on Indian spices, and will be posting my recipes for dal, chicken curry and more! If you want the info sooner, contact me with your info on my blog!

Leave a Reply

